More advanced data driven testing - how should one structure and run tests?

I have a lot of experience writing automated tests suites for APIs in Postman. I have always used data-driven testing and as such have always been a little frustrated with Postmans limitations in this area. When I say data-driven I am trying to achieve two goals. First I want to decouple the test from the test data but more importantly, I want to be able to parameterise my tests so that I iterate over each with different data which represent different scenarios/cases. I have some API endpoints which I hit tens of times but with different data. I am looking for advice on a better way to structure and perform my testing. I will outline the issues below.

In Postman you can run a collection against a selected environment and/or a data file. The problem here is you can pass just one data file for a complete collection. While you can technically have all your required data in the single file it might become bloated that for brevity it is actually better to hard code your data in the test within the Postman UI.

What you can do is organise your collection tests into sub-directories and then select individual sub-directories to run, each using their own data. Likewise, you could split the tests up into individual collections. The big problem here is to run the whole suite of tests is no longer a click of a button but instead, you would have to go through each sub-collection of tests and run them. Linking sub-collections to test data might also become a frustration. Just as importantly, you no longer get a single concise report which is a big problem.