I am new here.
I installed Postman a couple of days ago on Ubuntu 18.04 and I moved the postman link and “app” folder to my home directoy (my bad!).
Today I saw a notification that an update to Postman is available. I clicked “Update” and the updater put the existing “app” folder in “Postman-(something)-old” folder and wiped the entire home directory and placed a new “app” folder and a link.
This was completely unexpected and I lost all the data in my home directory. I saved my neck because I had git backups of all work-related data but my personal files just evaporated.
I don’t think there is much to do about my lost files now.
But the devs may consider putting a prompt before wiping whole directory.